1163 Reads
Today, I am going to talk about ECMAScript.

ECMAScript is a Standard for a scripting languages, ECMA stands for European Computer Manufacturer’s Association.

Languages like JavaScript are based on the ECMAScript standard.

JavaScript was invented in 1995, and became an ECMA standard in 1997. 

List of ECMAScript versions: (From 2015 ECMAScript is named by year (ECMAScript 2015))

Version Official Name Description
1 ECMAScript 1 (1997) First Edition.
2 ECMAScript 2 (1998) Editorial changes only.
3 ECMAScript 3 (1999) Added Regular Expressions.
Added try/catch.
4 ECMAScript 4 Never released.
5 ECMAScript 5 (2009) Added "strict mode".
Added JSON support.
Added String.trim().
Added Array.isArray().
Added Array Iteration Methods.
5.1 ECMAScript 5.1 (2011) Editorial changes.
6 ECMAScript 2015 Added let and const.
Added default parameter values.
Added Array.find().
Added Array.findIndex().
7 ECMAScript 2016 Added exponential operator (**).
Added Array.prototype.includes.
8 ECMAScript 2017 Added string padding.
Added new Object properties.
Added Async functions.
Added Shared Memory.
9 ECMAScript 2018 Added rest / spread properties.
Added Asynchronous iteration.
Added Promise.finally().
Additions to RegExp.
10 ECMAScript 2019 Added Array.Flat().
Added Array.flatMap()
Added Object.fromEntries()
Added String.trimStart() & String.trimEnd()
Added Function.toString()
11 ECMAScript 2020 Added BigInt.
Added Promise.allSettled().
Added Optional Import
Added globalThis
Added Nullish Coalescing Operator (??)